In search of a flow state.

(with apologies to psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi)

I can’t remember exactly when my Missouri River excursion daydreams all started, it was many years ago. But, I can tell you where the thoughts most often had their genesis – at my desk at work. At times of high stress, when it seemed that everybody needed something, and they each needed it RIGHT NOW, I’d take a deep breath, minimize all of the windows on my massive computer monitor and say to myself, “Someday this will be my view, this will be the only task on my task list – to breathe, to be in the moment and to go with the flow.”🌲🛶 🏕

Well, my new, single item task list is on the calendar for June 6, 2023 – canoe the Missouri River from source to terminus (undecided currently whether that’ll be the Mississippi confluence or the St. Louis Arch). This task has no hard completion deadline. In fact, the whole point of this task is to make the journey the destination, to take my time and bask in the glorious wonders of nature – an extended Shinrin-Yoku session of sorts. For those that are wondering, the Missouri River is 2,341 miles from it’s source at Three Forks, Montana to it’s confluence with the Mississippi in St. Louis.

I won’t bore you with all of the mundane details of the preparations involved in this undertaking (or, “boondoggle,” if you will – the appellation my wife Kathy has preferred to utilize in referring to this adventure). Suffice it to say, I concluded that my usual strategy (wingin’ it, improvising & relying upon my native intelligence) probably wouldn’t cut it in this case. I’ve never undertaken an expedition like this. So, I made sure to absorb as much pertinent information as I could relevant to a successful journey. I think (hope?) that I have adequately addressed most of the known challenges and contingencies. But, as is always the case, I am certain that unforseen obstacles will arise. I hope to get by with the assistance of the wonderful network of river angels and the collective wisdom of prior paddlers that have gone before me – whom I have followed on the Missouri River Paddlers Facebook page for the last several years. I realize that I am an introvert and never have been much of a “joiner,” but I have resolved to, along with swimming in the serenity of savory sylvan solitude, avail myself to an occasional dip in the pool of civil discourse with my fellow human beings, especially with like-minded river folk. I will confess, however, that I may do so with the ulterior motive of the potentiality of possibly procuring a cold beer, hot shower or comfortable bed (or all of the foregoing). 😉

A little bit of background about the name of this blog – Spirit II St. Louis. The canoe that I will be paddling is a Wenonah Spirit II. The canoe’s destination is St. Louis – so, the goal is to get the Spirit II to St. Louis. I’ve abbreviated this upon the side of my canoe by affixing a St. Louis Cardinals’ STL emblem next to Wenonah’s canoe name emblem. (Any resemblance to the name of Charles Lindbergh’s craft is strictly coincidental.)

I’ve vicariously made adventurous river trips down the Missouri and other rivers numerous times – sometimes in real time via the internet at my desk, sometimes while relaxing with a book in my recliner – now, however, the river calls and I must go.

I would invite you to follow my journey if you would like to do so. (Positive vibes only, please. ✌️🤙 ) I hope to document the trip on this blog and on my Instagram account (@smo_dog). Who knows, I may even follow up my first ever Facebook post (made in order share this blog with my Facebook friends) with some posts and pics of my river adventures and exploits. Finally, once I am underway, you should be able to track my progress on my Garmin InReach page (https://share.garmin.com/smodog ) Currently the InReach map will probably display my test run trip on the Current River last summer. Hopefully, I will figure out how to hide that trip and only display my Missouri River trip by the time that I put in at Three Forks.

Peace out ✌️👍& paddle on 🛶 .

10 responses to “In search of a flow state.”

  1. Andrea Kramer Avatar
    Andrea Kramer

    Ahhhh!!! I am SO excited to follow along on your adventure!!! It’s going to be amazing and I’m so proud of you for following and living out your dream! 🛶🏕️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is really happening – So exciting !! We love you and can’t wait to see what happens next 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so cool, Steve! I look forward to following you as you follow your dreams, and I hope you do have the occasional encounter with other like-minded river folk so they will have the pleasure of encountering you. All best!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So excited for you Steve and love that I can follow on you blog!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Can’t wait to follow along, Steve!!! Now I will be the one vicariously going on a river adventure…yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for the invite, look forward to reading your adventures 🛶paddle on!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Debbie Trachsel Avatar
    Debbie Trachsel

    It’s a beautiful Sunday evening at the Lake of the Ozarks, and Galvin and I are eating and drinking on the deck enjoying the beautiful sunset. I read him your blog, and Galvin said you have close timing to the date of May 14 when Meriwether Lewis and William Clark and their Corps of Discovery started their adventure. Galvin and I are excited to follow your journey, and we will connect as you get closer to Jefferson City if it’s over a weekend, and Galvin and I can drive up and buy you dinner. Safe travels.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Good luck and safe travels tomorrow scuba Steve

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You are such an inspiration and what a journey you will have. Safe travels and see you back in the Lou in approximately 3 months!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lynne Sebastian Avatar
    Lynne Sebastian

    I’m excited to follow your journey. I’m sure each day will bring a challenge, but nothing you can’t handle. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started